Uncategorized

Sometimes an Agency isn’t worth it

A bit of a disclaimer. I try not to use actual names of people or places. So sorry if I slip.

I’ve been working with a recruiting agency locally. Two actually. Experience with one has been great. They’ve been incredibly professional and had me into the office to review my resume, offering constructive feedback.

The other one hasn’t been great, in fact it’s been downright frustrating. I was contacted by this second agency after I submitted my cover letter and resume for a position they were recruiting for. The same day they contacted me and set up an interview for the following week. 

I went in and interviewed. Both the interviewer and I felt I was a good fit for the position in question. The interviewer was going to contact me at the end of that week to let me know when the next interview would be. 

So I went home and when the interviewer didn’t contact me at the end of that week I waited until Monday, then I emailed the recruiter. The recruiter had been very clear in their instructions that they didn’t answer the phone during working hours and would just delete any voice mail messages. Immediately I felt uncomfortable. Who just deletes voice mail messages left them for them?

Shaking it off, I waited for a response from the recruiter. Three weeks passed before the recruiter got back to me. In response they’d sent the standard answer. “We’re in conversations with our clients about the status of this position. I don’t have any information for you. I’ll contact you when we do.”

Three weeks to tell me that they aren’t any farther? I was pissed. I was livid. During the extensive job hunting I’ve been through, never once has it taken three weeks to reply to a brief email asking the status of the position. It takes 30 seconds to be polite to reply. Instead I was faced with that response.

My plan was just to ignore it like the rest of the positions that I applied for and wasn’t contacted about. But one thing threw that plan out the window. It was about 2 weeks after receiving the vague non-answering email that I was checking another job board and found out that the position I applied for was re-posted in several other job boards, the IDENTICAL posting.

Once again, I was livid. My first response was to just ignore the posting and read between the lines. Somewhere along the line someone deemed that I wasn’t suited for this job. But instead I crafted a brief email, had it proof-read by an HR professional and long term friend, then I sent it.

It’s been another 2 weeks since I sent that email.

I guess I should just take the hint and forget about this posting, this position and this agency. If they can’t reply to an email in a timely fashion, I have serious concerns about their ability to find me a job in a timely manner.

But it’s still incredibly frustrating. Most companies don’t even use an automailer to confirm that they’re received your application. But if there was more of an effort in the early stages, then recruiters would have an easier time.

A friend who does recruiting as part of her full time job told me that a recent Admin assistant position caused an influx of more than 700 applicants. So next time you get depressed about the amount of the applications you’re completing, remember that you’re not the one who has to sort through it.

Leave a Reply

